Hallo! The great part of living in a city like Houston is that there is a lot of food to be had, yet for some reason I always frequent the same places rotating between 3 basic cuisines: Thai, Tex-Mex, and Italian. Yes, I’ve tried and love Indian and Mediterranean food and have been disappointed by Vietnamese food, but generally it is the same restaurant, the same menu, the same order. And then my boyfriend suggested German food.

It seemed oh so not-something-I-would-have-even-thought-of-before that it was perfect. We ended up going to a place called Rudi Lechner’s. I’ll be honest: I really didn’t expect German food to be good; I went simply because it would be a new experience, but my goodness this place was delicious! They had me with the bread….

The brown bread was sweet and warm and delicious and, surprisingly, reminded me of home.

20120130-121454.jpg

I ordered a Swiss cheese and white wine soup to start that was bitter, but in a good way.

20120130-121831.jpg

But the best part of the whole meal was the salmon! It was simply perfect. Just writing this is making me crave it again. I’m not a food critic and I don’t really know how to describe flavors so I won’t even try but I will show you a picture…

20120130-122235.jpg

And of course this wouldn’t have been a complete German meal without some German beer 🙂

20120130-122357.jpg

We happened to go on a Wednesday night which, lucky for us, Wednesday’s is Oktoberfest night so they have live music and extra meals on their menu (salmon was one of them). There was a group of German women singing along with the band and laughing next to us and this all made me want to go to Germany really, really bad.

