I’m not a particularly squeamish person, but there are certain things I wouldn’t want in my mouth–octopus being one of these.

BUT, I was starting to descend into one of my funks again. The day was almost over and I hadn’t tried anything new. I was tired and gloomy and doing all I could to not crawl into bed in defeat. In hopes of getting my mood up my boyfriend took me out to a sushi restaurant we had never been to before. We flipped the menu open and there it was: my “new.” Though it was something I would have hoped to go an entire life without ever needing to eat, it was a challenge and just like that my mood picked up.

It took me a good five minutes to work up the nerve to put the octopus piece in my mouth. I would look at my boyfriend, shake my head, and laugh. Finally, I took a deep breath, counted to three, and…

It was actually pretty good… until I bit one of the tentacles that is. At that point, it was all I could do not to throw up. I survived, though :). I drank a lot of water and went on to eat a lot of delicious sushi.

Tentacles!!

If I eat octopus again, it will be without the tentacles. All in all, this was probably one of my favorite moments of the week, because it reinforced what I’m doing here. To go from a gloomy mood to favorite moment of the week means I think I’m on to something 🙂

