The more I force myself to try new foods, the more I realize how fussy I am.

Now there is a lot of “strange” food out there like octopus and blood sausage and fish eye, to name a few, but calamari isn’t very “strange” around here. Nearly everyone I know likes it–even the picky eaters.

My god, I’m worse than my sister!

It took a lot of convincing and a lot of lemon to get me to try even the mini onion ring-shaped ones.

The ones that still look like a squid?→→→

Never!

The circle ones weren’t bad…they weren’t good either. The texture was a bit off for me; I think it’s because I was hoping for an onion ring. I know it’s probably all in my mind and had I not known what it was I would have probably thought it was delicious. And I would have probably loved the squid shaped ones too. Probably.

Probably not.

Sigh…next time I’ll try the ones shaped like a baby squid. Unlike the octopus, I didn’t feel very victorious this time because I barely pushed my comfort zone…but I also didn’t almost throw-up on the table, so you gotta look on the bright side.

I still don’t know what it says about me that it took  longer to convince myself to try calamari than to jump off a plane. Can’t be good.

