There is little else in this world that consistently puts a smile on my face like flowers do–besides loved ones, of course. So even though we live in an apartment with no yard, I have made it my job to fill our concrete balcony with as many flowers as possible.  I don’t have a green thumb, but that is a problem I refuse to acknowledge.

I usually buy flowers already grown and beautiful and bring them home to slowly deteriorate. Seriously, I’ve even killed cactuses. But I refuse to give up.

I am already getting better. When you really love something, you find a way to make it work. Most of the flowers I’ve bought since moving into the apartment (August) are still alive–granted not in the best shape, but it’s not spring yet! So since I’ve been getting better and the weather has been getting better I thought, why not try to nurture something from the very beginning?

I went to Home Depot and bought seeds for the most beautiful flower out there: sunflowers! The whole process is so suspiciously simple, it makes me thing I did something wrong.

I got these cells for about $1.29, put soil in them, added the seed, and watered them. Now all I have to do is wait. FOR 90 DAYS! (and water regularly). I have 32 chances to get it right. We will see what happens.

my little gardening buddy 🙂 although all she did was eat the soil…

English: Sunflowers in Fargo, North Dakota. Es...

