In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, this past Saturday was all about the green. There was, of course, the inevitable green beer(s), but there was also a different green drink that is perhaps a little healthier if not tastier–an avocado smoothie.

Saturday afternoon was supposed to be meant for Pho (a Vietnamese noodle soup) until we found out that Pho is a BEEF noodle soup and I’m a pescatarian. Nevertheless, our hopes for Pho lead us to china town where we found a French/Vietnamese bakery that sold croissants, Bahn Mi, and beignets along with a list of smoothies made of ingredients I had never even imagined before…probably because they don’t sound very appetizing. I had the avocado smoothie and my boyfriend decided to be a bit more adventurous and ordered the red bean smoothie.

The verdict: we got exactly what we asked for. The avocado smoothie tastes just like its name indicates–avocado. I LOVE avocado, but I have to admit it was a bit unsettling to have it in liquid form. I’m sure that if I had it on a regular basis I would grow used to it. I wouldn’t mind having it mixed with another fruit like apple and/or lime (possible recipe experiment?). The red bean smoothie, on the other hand, is a bit too much bean for any one stomach to handle at once.

