Going on a trip with the dog is something I have wanted to do for a long time, but was too afraid to go for it. You see, my dog is not the most well-behaved pup out there. She barks at strangers for no reason, practically drags me around when we go for walks, has selective hearing, and chews up anything and everything she gets her paws on. I love her, but I haven’t always liked her. However, lately she has been much better (two chewed up shoes in one month ain’t bad). It was time to trust her a bit more. I must say, I am glad we did :).

We kept her on the leash at first out of fear of being those people with the crazy dog, but it didn’t feel right having her restrained so we took the plunge and went sans leash. She was amazing! Seeing her discover something new was such a great experience. She was curious and timid at first but it wasn’t long before she started bouncing around in the water. She was having fun and it felt so great to be able to give that to her.

Seeing her explore and play and face her fears was such a proud moment for all of us. We were all brand new to the experience and had no idea what to expect from one another. Sharing that moment brought all three of us closer together: dad, mom, and pup. It made me want to make sure more of my “dots” are shared with the people (and animals) I love.

Every time I went into the water Ella followed–even when she was still scared to go in. Being a dog owner is strange like that. Having a little buddy next to you following your every move just to be with you and protect you makes you feel on top of the world, but they won’t every let you get too big-headed because sometimes another dog’s butt hole will be a lot more interesting that anything you have to say. Still, it’s a forever friendship that’s worth a few lost shoes.

