Walking through the grocery store on Monday, I saw a section filled with squash and yams. I wasn’t planning on making this recipe, but when I saw the squash I started craving a ravioli with squash filling I’d had at a restaurant a while back. How hard could it be? I looked through the epicurious app on my phone to find a similar recipe and this was the closest one on my skill level. If you want to have a closer look at the recipe check it out here.

Here’s what you’ll need:

First: Cook the pasta (I used fettuccine) in boiling water, but don’t let it get too soft!

Second: Cut the squash into little squares. Melt 1/4 cup of butter in a pan and add the squash. Cook for about ten minutes. Make sure to stir a lot because if not the bottom ones will start to burn.

Third: Add the sage (I used basil because that’s what I had. I don’t think it makes a big difference)

Fourth: Add the mushrooms (about 8 ounces) and another 1/4 cup of butter. The recipe calls for shiitake mushrooms. I don’t really know the difference between mushrooms so I just grabbed the first I saw. Again, I don’t think it makes a difference. Cook until the mushrooms and the squash are soft (10-15 mins).

Let me take a moment to tell you about my new basil plants! I don’t know how long they will last under my care, but let’s hope for the best. They smell amazing and it’s so much fun to simply grab some leaves to add to whatever I am cooking. Yes, I’ve been adding it to everything I can. They make cooking so much more fun.

Fifth Step: Add about 5 ounces of spinach and stir until wilted.

Sixth: Season with salt and pepper. I added Italian seasoning because why not?

Seventh: Add 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and stir.

Finally: Add the pasta, mix, and serve.

The verdict: not bad! It was really easy to make because there is not much preparation involved. All you have to do is gather the ingredients and cut the squash. I’m surprised to be saying this but it was actually fun to cook this time around (mostly because of the basil, though). The problem with this recipe is that it is really dry. I added a cup of water when mixing in with the pasta but it wasn’t enough. We have some leftovers so when I warm those up I’ll add some vegetable broth. If you have any suggestions on how to improve or modify the recipe let me know!

Update: My mom suggested milk…I would have never though of that!

