Oh my! I actually made it to my 50th Dot!! Even though I am really far behind, I still feel a big sense of accomplishment. I have managed to do some really cool stuff I probably wouldn’t have done otherwise, and I’ve even face a few fears along the way. I am a long ways off from where I was when I first started this blog. I was zombie-like and completely uninspired. I used to drag myself in and out of bed lamenting my lack of direction in life; Now I wake up every morning looking for something new to do that will challenge me in some way. Most days I think I accomplish that. I mean, for goodness sakes, I am running around public streets in my underwear! So about that…

Runs, surprisingly, have become kind of a thing for me. And the more bizarre the better. When I heard of the hot undies run I knew it was a must. Streaking has been on my to-do list under “fears to face” for a while and though the undies run is not quite streaking, it’s close enough. Baby steps…

I was battling split personalities before this run. A part of me was excited to be doing something so goofy and unexpected, but another part of me was drenched in self-criticism. Body image is a big one for a lot of people, myself included. I wish I had exercised more, gone on a diet, wasn’t so flabby and my legs so thick, blah blah blah blah. To be able to suspend all of that noise for 2 miles while running around half-naked with a bunch of other nut cases seemed like a breath of fresh air. Suspending self-criticism= ultimate freedom.

We were some of the first people to show up at the bar (of course it was hosted by a bar!) and I was the first girl to show up in actual underwear. The other girls there were wearing shorts. I felt like a complete fool for actually taking the underwear part seriously. But I refused to go back to the car to put on shorts. I was determined to see things through this time around. And own it. Own my body. Own my costume. Own the moment, however embarrassing it turned out to be.

This guy definitely owned it!

I am so glad I did. I went with it all the way. Later on when other women started showing up in real underwear I was glad to be there half-naked in case they were as unsure about it as I had been. Once everybody started running around the neighborhood I didn’t feel shame or self-conscious; I felt proud and free. It was out of this world funny to break the taboo and see the innocent bystanders’ reactions… Plus, there was beer.

