Since I’ve become quite a documentary addict, I thought I’d compile a short list of some of my current favorite art documentaries. Each of them tells a story of a different art medium so even though it’s a short list, there is a lot of variation. Let me know what you think of these and if you have any others to recommend, please let me know. I’m always looking for more :).

1. The Pixar Story

First up is animation. I have loved every Pixar movie to date (few movies have made me cry as much as Toy Story 3) so to be able to get a glimpse into the process that goes into creating these films and how it all got started was a real treat. I absolutely love the work environment of Pixar Studios.

2. Wasteland

Besides being a truly heart-warming story, Wasteland is also a really smart documentary. It brings up so many thought-provoking questions like: what is an artist’s responsibility to his subject(s) and what is the value of modern art? Plus, Vik Muniz’s work and vision is stunning.

3. Exit Through the Gift Shop

Another really smart documentary that poses a lot of difficult questions. This movie strives for a deeper understanding of what makes someone an artist. Is it the work they put out, their vision, popularity? The glimpse into the world of street art is priceless.

4. Helvetica

This documentary shows all the thought and passion that goes into design. It is both interesting and funny to see how one font can spark up such passionate discussions in the design world.

5. First Position

This documentary is one of the most inspiring ones I’ve seen yet. The kids in this film are so dedicated and passionate about their art. I have a deeper appreciation for the ballet since watching this film.

