crap-1

2_mushrooms 2_the_wind 13_seal_hunter shrigley_email_card

all images via

David Shrigley’s work never fails to raise the question, “why is this art?” Most of his drawings look like something you would draw in the back of your textbook when you were bored in algebra class. Yet, for some reason, he is one of the artists whose work I can’t stop admiring. I love looking at his work. It’s not just because it’s funny (and it is very funny). There is just something about it that I find strangely compelling. I think it’s because his drawings are very unassuming. There is nothing pretentious or elaborate in his work. It’s just the image and/or text. In this simplicity you start to see all these underlining ideas and emotions and you realize: life is kind of absurd and funny sometimes. I wonder why humor is so often absent in the fine arts.

David Shrigley in one word: refreshing.

